Brahmaputra River

The Brahmaputra River System

  • The Brahmaputra is a river in India (meaning the son of Brahma).
  • The Chemayungdung glacier in southern Tibet is the source of the Brahmaputra. Its source is extremely close to the Indus and Satluj rivers.
  • The Mariam La divides the Brahmaputra’s source from Manasarovar Lake.
  • It travels through Tibet’s Indus-Tsangpo Structure Zone, which forms a depression between the Great Himalayas in the south and the Kailas Range in the north.

The Braided Brahmaputra

  • Despite its incredible elevation, the Tsangpo has a mild slope. The river is slow and has a 640-kilometer-long navigable channel.
  • In Tibet, it gets a vast number of tributaries. The Raga Tsangpo, which meets the Tsangpo near Lhatse Dzong, is the first important tributary.
  • It flows through southern Tibet as the Yarlung Tsangpo River, breaking through the Himalayas in spectacular gorges and reaching Arunachal Pradesh, where it is known as Dihang.
  • The Dihang turns southwest about west of Sadiya, where it is joined by two mountain streams, the Lohit and the Dibang.
  • The river is known as the Brahmaputra below the confluence.
  • It runs as the Jamuna across Bangladesh, merging with the Ganga to form the Sunderbans, a large delta.
  • Majuli and Umananda, the world’s largest and smallest river islands, are located in the river in the state of Assam.
  • The river’s major cities include Dibrugarh, Pasighat, Neamati, Tezpur, and Guwahati.

Tributaries of Brahmaputra River


Teesta River

Teesta River and Feni River - JournalsOfIndia

  • The Teesta River, which flows through Sikkim and West Bengal before joining the Brahmaputra as a tributary in Bangladesh, is the lifeblood of the state.
  • The river is 315 kilometers long in total.
  • It is generated by the melting of the Tista Khantse glacier at Tso Lhamo Lake in North Sikkim.
  • The river meets its main tributary, the Rangeet River, just before the Teesta Bridge, which connects Kalimpong and Darjeeling.
  • It turns southwards at this point, heading for West Bengal.
  • The river enters the plains near Sevoke, 22 kilometers from Siliguri, and is bridged by the Coronation Bridge, which connects the north-eastern states to the rest of India.
  • The river subsequently flows to Jalpaiguri, then to Bangladesh’s Rangpur District, until finally merging with the Brahmaputra near Fulchori.

Manas River

Postcards from magical Manas, where nature's wonders never cease

  • The Manas River flows through India and Bhutan and is Bhutan’s major river system. Amo Chu or Torsa, Wong Chu or Raidak, and Mo Chu or Sankosh are three more river systems in Bhutan.
  • Before debouching into India in western Assam, it is met by three more significant streams.
  • It enters the Brahmaputra River near Jogighopa after a length of 376 kilometers. The Royal Manas National Park in Bhutan and the adjoining
  • Manas Wildlife Sanctuary in India, which is a Project Tiger Reserve, an Elephant Reserve, a Biosphere Reserve, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are both located in the river valley.

The primary tributaries of Brahmaputra River

Brahmaputra River System - UPSC
  • The Dhansiri River is a tributary of the Dhansiri
  • It is a tributary of the Brahmaputra River on the left bank.
  • It rises from Nagaland’s Liasang summit.
  • It is the main river in Assam’s Golaghat district and Nagaland’s Dimapur district.

The Lohit River

  • It is a major Brahmaputra tributary on the river’s left bank.
  • It rises in the Tibetan area of eastern Tibet.
  • The Mishmi Hills are crossed by the Lohit River.
  • At Sadia town in the state of Arunachal Pradesh, it joins the left bank of the Brahmaputra.
  • The cities of Lohit and Brahmakund are the primary human settlements along the river.
  • The Lohit river’s watershed basin is largely covered in dense forest.
  • The Lohit river is crossed by the enormous Dhola-Sadia bridge, also known as the Bhupen Hazarika bridge.

The Dibang River

  • It is a tributary of the Brahmaputra River on the left bank.
  • It is one of the Brahmaputra River’s major tributaries.
  • It runs across Arunachal Pradesh and Assam states.
  • It flows into the plains of Arunachal Pradesh’s Lower Dibang Valley district.
  • Near Roing, it reaches the Assam lowlands.

The Subansiri River

  • It is a tributary of the Brahmaputra River on the right bank.
  • It rises in the Himalayan area of Tibet.
  • It runs east and southeast through Arunachal Pradesh’s Lower Subansiri district, then south to the Assam Valley, where it joins the
  • Brahmaputra river’s right bank in Assam’s Lakhimpur district.
  • Locals refer to the Subansiri River as the Gold River.
  • This river is famous for its gold dust all over the world.

The Kameng River

  • It is a tributary of the Brahmaputra River on the right bank.
  • It rises in the eastern Himalayan district of Tawang.
  • It divides the Arunachal Pradesh districts of East Kameng and West Kameng.
  • It runs through the Sonitpur district of Assam before joining the Brahmaputra at Tezpur.
  • The Kameng River is divided into two sections: the west, which includes the Akka hills and is home to the Akka tribes, and the east, which includes the Dafla hills and is home to the Daphla tribe.
  • Near the Kameng river are the Kaziranga National Park and the Pakkhui Wildlife Sanctuary.

The Sankosh River

  • It is a tributary of the Brahmaputra River on the right bank.
  • It flows through Bhutan, India, and Bangladesh and is a trans-boundary river.
  • It rises in the northwestern part of Bhutan.
  • It then runs through the Assam districts of Dhubri and Kokrajhar, as well as the West Bengal district of Jalpaiguri.
  • The river then flows into Bangladesh, where it is known as the Dudhkumar River.
  • Near the Indo-Bangladesh border, the river finally meets the right bank of the Brahmaputra.

Leave a Comment